Who We Are

This is not a checkoff funded page. The information, policies, and/or content on this page are not funded by soybean checkoff dollars.

Wisconsin Soybean Association (WSA)
Founded in 1972, the Wisconsin Soybean Association (WSA) is a grassroots, farmer-led, membership organization. Since the soybean checkoff is prohibited by law from lobbying, WSA works to ensure that sound policies are in place to enhance the future of soybean farming. We work on behalf of our 1,200 members to positively impact regulatory and legislative issues on a local, state and national level.

Mission Statement:
The WSA is a progressive organization devoted to bringing together all persons interested in the production, marketing, distribution, and utilization of soybeans and soybean products.

Strategic goals:

  • To increase grassroots participation thereby increasing total association membership.
  • To communicate and inform our existing and prospective members on public policies regarding the Wisconsin soybean producer.
  • To promote the association's visibility and increase its public relations thereby improving its image among policymakers and the general public.

Wisconsin Soybean Association
Board of Directors

WSA Board of Directors
WSA Board of Directors

Dan Roe, Monticello, 608.938.1309

Julia Engler, Orfordville, 608.931.1300

Don Lutz, Scandinavia, 715.412.3686

Bob Studnicka, Muscoda, 608.739.3572

Past President
Sherry Olson, Black River Falls, 715.299.7127

State Directors
Scott Baier, Elk Mound, 715.456.4024
Dean Ruff, Bloomer, 715.568.3653
Mike Bertram, Marshfield, 715.305.5347
Broc Kensmoe, Whitehall 715.533.2355
John Simon, Oconomowoc, 920.253.0198
Dr. Shawn Conley, University of Wisconsin, 608.262.7975

ASA Director Representatives
Kevin Hoyer, West Salem, 608.786.0058
Dan Roe, Monticello, 608.938.1309

Executive Staff
Robert Karls, Executive Director

Lisa Schauer, Office Manager

4414 Regent St.
Madison, WI 53705
608.274.7522 Office
608.274.3988 Fax